::::: Welcome to Web Series Today "collaborative environment"
::::: Help get LGPedia back online!!!!! <== ACT TODAY!!!!!
::::: Welcome to new Web Series Today blog "authors". <= PLEASE READ CAREFULLY!!!

Monday, March 1, 2010

Streamy Awards: For Immediate Release

The Bannen Way Earns Seven Streamy Award Nominations, Followed
by The Guild, Auto-Tune the News, and Easy To Assemble; Courteney Cox and Lisa Kudrow Receive Nods for Web Therapy, as Does Soap Star Crystal Chappell for Venice

The 2nd Annual Streamy Award Events Will be Held on April 11, 2010
at The Music Box @ Fonda Theater in Hollywood
Los Angeles, CA (March 1, 2010) — Nominations for the 2nd Annual Streamy Awards were announced in a live online broadcast today by the International Academy of Web Television, an independent organization of digital entertainment leaders created to recognize excellence in original episodic Web television programming. The Streamy Awards is the first and most prestigious live awards show dedicated to honoring the actors, directors, editors, producers, writers, and production talent behind some of the best original programming on the Web. More than 150,000 public submissions, covering 2,000 original shows, were narrowed down to a field of just over 100 nominees. Winners will be announced at two separate ceremonies being held on April 7 and April 11, 2010 in Hollywood, CA.

The Bannen Way, an action drama series, earned seven Streamy nominations, including Best Drama Web Series, Best New Web Series, Best Male Actor in a Drama Web Series (Mark Gantt), and Best Directing for a Drama Web Series (Jesse Warren, Mark Gantt). The Guild, a series about a group of online gamers and previous Streamy Award winner, is up for seven Streamys this year, including Best Comedy Web Series, Best Female Actor in a Web Series (Felicia Day), Best Actor in a Comedy (Sandeep Parikh) and Best Writing for a Comedy Web Series (Felicia Day). Easy to Assemble, a comedy about successful actors who now work at IKEA, is up for six Streamys, including two nominations for Best Actress in a Comedy Web Series (Justine Bateman and Ileanna Douglas), as well as Best Comedy Web Series and Best Branded Entertainment Web Series. Auto-Tune the News, 2009’s breakout YouTube sensation, is up for four Streamys, including Best News or Politics Web Series, and Best Original Music in a Web Series (Evan Gregory, Andrew Gregory, and Michael Gregory).

"I'm truly impressed with the outstanding quality of this year's Streamy nominees," said IAWTV Chairman, Michael Wayne, President and CEO of digital entertainment studio DECA. "It’s a testament to how far the online video industry has come and a great predictor of where we’re headed.”

“This year we were excited to receive a record number of public submissions from over 130 countries, indicating the rapid global growth of the digital entertainment industry over the past year,” said Brady Brim-DeForest, Executive Producer of the Streamy Awards.

Streamy Award Events
On Sunday, April 11, 2010 at 5:30 pm, winners in 15 categories will be announced in front of a live audience at the Music Box @ the Fonda Theater in Hollywood, CA and broadcasted online live to audiences around the world. Awards for craft categories will be presented at a separate Streamy Craft Awards Ceremony on Thursday, April 7, 2010 at the Barnsdall Art Center in Hollywood, CA, excerpts from which will be integrated into the live show.


Post a Comment

If you want to become an "author" on Web Series Today please read: http://tinyurl.com/becomeaWSTauthor

For more detailed information about Web Series Today please read: Web Series Today:

For other info contact: [email protected]

Join the discussion: http://www.tinyurl.com/webseriescommunity